VLDB 2011 PhD Workshop

The VLDB PhD workshop is a forum for PhD students working in the broad areas addressed by the VLDB conference itself. This forum aims to facilitate interactions among PhD students and to stimulate feedback from more experienced researchers.

We welcome submissions from PhD students at any stage of their PhD work. PhD workshop papers are meant to present on-going thesis work -- in 6 pages. Those starting their PhDs should describe the problem they focus on, explain why it is important, detail why the existing solutions are not sufficient, and give an outline of the new solutions that are pursued. Those in the middle or close to completion should be more concrete in describing their contribution, still in the context of their doctoral work. Note that specific portions of the thesis work might have been published or submitted to publication. Again this year, the accepted papers will be published in the VLDB proceedings.

This workshop should be an opportunity for the upcoming generation of database researchers to share their work and get to know each other, and an opportunity for the rest of the database community to meet future colleagues and find out about the new ideas emerging in a variety of universities.


Submissions must be single-author, and the name of the supervisor must be clearly marked ("supervised by ...") on the paper, under the author's name. Authors should submit their papers in PDF format through the conference management system (https://cmt.research.microsoft.com/vldb2011). The paper should be of max. 6 pages (including references) and should be formatted with the same rules as VLDB papers. Please make sure to meet these guidelines

Important Dates

Submission deadline: Apr 1, 2011 (11:59pm PDT)
Notification: May 20, 2011
Camera-ready due: June 11, 2011

Program Committee

Philippe Bonnet (chair, ITU Copenhagen, DK)

Yanif Ahmad (JHU, US)
Laurent Amsaleg (IRISA, FR)
Peter Boncz (CWI, NL)
Angela Bonifati (ICAR-CNR, IT)
Luc Bouganim (INRIA, FR)
Stephane Bressan (NUS, SG)
Barbara Catania (U. Genova, IT)
Bin Cui (Peking U., CN)
Isabel Cruz (UIC, US)
Philippe Cudre-Mauroux (U.Fribourg, CH)
Amol Deshpande (UMD, US)
Minos Garofolakis (TU Crete, GR)
Jarek Gryz (York U., CA)
Shohei Hido (IBM, JP)
Ryan Johnson (U.Toronto, CA)
Bettina Kemme (McGill U, CA)
Sérgio Lifschitz (PUC Rio, BR)
Qiong Luo (HKUST, CN)
Nesime Tatbul (ETHZ, CH)
Dan Olteanu (U. Oxford, UK)
Gottfried Vossen (U.Muenster, GE)
Xiaofang Zhou (U. Queensland, AU)